National Speed Mooting Competition 2022
Sponsored by BPP


National Speed Mooting Competition 2022 in association with BPP

Undergraduate and GDL Final

Monday 18th July 2022 at 7.30 pm on Zoom

This year, the undergraduate and GDL National Speed Mooting Competition was held across two heats. The winners of these heats will come together for one final moot to determine the champion of this year's competition.

Matthew Johnson (Heat A Winner) will take on Cason Yong (Heat B Winner).

Anyone that would like to watch this final moot is more than welcome to sign up for free below to watch this final live. The final will be judged by practitioners.

As a bonus, there is a Q&A session with practitioners whilst the judges are deliberating. The focus of the Q&A session is on advocacy. We will have practitioners on hand to answer any questions that you may have. You can submit questions in advance or ask questions on the night. 

The names of those involved and the full schedule can be seen below.

This will be a great opportunity for those that are new to mooting or wishing to hone their skills to witness a high quality moot. This will give you the perfect opportunity to see how a moot works and learn some good tips. During the Q&A session you should receive advice in relation to practical advocacy. 

If you would like to attend the event, fill in the form below to register. We will send you the link for the Zoom event so that you can join. You can submit questions in advance using the form below. If you think of any questions after you have signed up, you can send these by email to
The events are open to anyone to attend, whether you are a student, a paralegal or even in practice. Once you sign up, we will send a confirmation email to confirm that you are registered for the event. Please bear with us, it may take up to 48 hours to send the link to you.


7.30 pm

Final Moot

Matthew Johnson - GDL Student at Oxford Brookes University


Cason Yong - Law Undergraduate at KCL


Matt Mawdsley - Barrister at St John's Buildings

Rebecca Keeves - Barrister at Cornwall Street Chambers

Michael Trevelyan - Barrister at Cornwall Street Chambers

8.00 pm

Q&A Session


Jas Daliwal - Barrister at Citadel Chambers

Beth Caunce- Pupil barrister at 9 St John Street

Robert Allen - Future pupil barrister at Parkland Plowden

All of our panellists competed in the National Speed Mooting Competition as students and have subsequently acted as judges at the National Speed Mooting Competition.

8.45 pm


Judgment delivered by our panel of judges


Please complete the form below to sign up. If you experience any difficulties, please feel free to contact us at Once you complete the form, it may take up to 48 hours to send you the link.