National Speed Mooting Competition presents


Exhibition Moot

Champion of Champions

Arya Tabrizi (2019 Champion) versus Robert Allen (2020 Champion)

Scroll down to watch the moot

For the first time in our history, we held a Champion of Champions Moot!

The winner of the 2019 National Speed Mooting Competition, Arya Tabrizi, took on our 2020 Champion, Robert Allen. Who will reign supreme in this battle of champions?

The moot followed the same format as our usual moots, but the timings will be slightly different. Rather than the normal 7 minutes provided for submissions, Arya and Robert had 12 minutes to make their submissions, inclusive of judicial intervention.

The judges for the contest were:
Darren Weir, barrister and lecturer (University of Kent)
Gerard Rogerson, barrister at the Crown Prosecution Service
Callum Brook, barrister at Central Chambers

As a bonus, there is a Q&A session with practitioners whilst the judges are deliberating. The Q&A session is one of the most popular features of the National Speed Mooting Competition.

The names of those involved and the full schedule can be seen below.

This will be a great opportunity for those that are new to mooting or wishing to hone their skills to witness a high quality moot. You can watch the moot at the link below. This will give you the perfect opportunity to see how a moot works and learn some good tips. During the Q&A session you should receive advice in relation to applications, interviews and life in practise.

This event has been organised by John Dove (Senior Crown Prosecutor at the CPS)


7.00pm to 7.30pm

Exhibition Moot

Exhibition Moot
Arya Tabrizi versus Robert Allen

7.30pm to 8.00pm

Q&A Session


John Dilworth - Retired Chief Crown Prosector

Alice Kuzmenko - Pupil Barrister at 1 Crown Office Row

Carl Woolfe - Solicitor Advocate at Noble Solicitors

Sushil Kumar - Barrister at 25 Bedford Row

Khadim Al'Hassan - Barrister at Park Square Chambers

8.00pm to 8.30pm


The judges will hand down their decision and give feedback to those in attendance.